Home » GreenLinks » Six Classes of Chemicals

Six Classes of Chemicals

The basic fact of life is that it is very difficult to avoid them – any one of the Six Classes of chemicals of concern. In buildings, examples such as flame retardants and solvents can be found in many items such as the chairs that we sit in and the painted walls that surround us indoors. As designers or laypersons, how can we improve the conditions for ourselves and others?

The Green Science Policy Institute founded by Arlene Blum in Berkeley, California will soon be launching its new series of videos about the Six Classes of chemicals of concern. There will be three webcasts and each will feature a video and live conversation with distinguished scientists and thought leaders. This is a great opportunity to learn more about the science of the Six Classes, where they are used why they are harmful, and how to reduce their use in everyday products. Together we can reduce the use of harmful chemicals and improve health and environment worldwide.

Webinar Dates:

  • June 22, Thursday: Introduction, Highly Fluorinated Chemicals, Antimicrobials
  • June 29, Thursday: Introduction, Flame Retardants, Bisphenols & Phthalates
  • July 6, Thursday: Introduction, Solvents, Certain Metals

Webinar Times:

  • 11:00 AM PST
  • 2:00 PM EST
  • 8:00 PM Central European Time

Sign up here.

About

Tidbits from the Web.
Scroll To Top